London 2021 Elections

London 2021 Elections for the Mayor of London and the London Assembly: three ballots, three electoral systems

The Mayor of London and London Assembly represent all Londoners.

They work with London’s councils, central government and other organisations on different aspects of London life, such as transport, policing, economic development, and fire and emergency planning. Three functional bodies—Transport for London, the Mayor's Office for Policing and Crime, and the London Fire Commissioner—are responsible for delivery of services in these areas.

The Mayor of London sets a vision for the city, and the budget to put that vision into action. 

The London Assembly is a watchdog for London and holds the Mayor and his advisers to public account. The Mayor must consult the Assembly before producing his strategies and budget, including City Hall’s share of council tax. The London Assembly also investigates issues that are important to London.

There are 25 Assembly Members in total. 14 represent constituencies, and 11 represent all of London.

Elections for the Mayor of London and the London Assembly take place every four years. The Mayor and the London Assembly constitutes the Greater London Authority, also known as City Hall.

On 6 May 2021, you vote for:

  • the Mayor of London
  • your constituency London Assembly Member
  • the London-wide Assembly Members

Mayor of London election

The Mayor of London election uses the Supplementary Vote system (SV).

The ballot paper for the Mayor of London election is pink. It will list the candidates for mayor, with two columns for marking your first choice and second choice.

In the first column, you mark a cross next to the candidate who is your first choice. For your vote to be counted, you need to cast a first choice vote. 

In the second column, you can mark a cross next to the candidate who is your second choice. You don’t have to mark a second choice.

If no candidate gets more than 50% of the first choice votes, all except the top 2 candidates are eliminated. If your first choice candidate is eliminated, and your second choice is for one of the top 2, your second choice is counted.

With this system, there is no lost vote. You can vote Lib Dem Luisa Porritt as your first choice and then your 'back up' second choice for maximum impact.

Constituency London Assembly Member

The Constituency London Assembly Member election uses first-past-the-post voting.

The ballot paper for the Constituency London Assembly Member election is yellow. It will list the candidates for your London Assembly constituency (this is different to your parliamentary constituency). Our London Assembly Constituency is called Lambeth and Southwark. The Lib Dem candidate is Florence Cyrot. You can only vote for one candidate, by putting a cross [X] in the box next to your choice.

London-wide Assembly Member

The London Assembly election uses the additional member system which is a form of proportional representation.   

The ballot paper for the London-wide Assembly Member is orange. It will list the parties that have candidates.

You can only vote once, by putting a cross [X] in the box next to your choice. 

The Lib Dem list is:

Caroline Pidgeon

Hina Bokhari

Rob Blackie

Chris Maines

Joyce Onstad

Irina von Wiese

Hussain Khan

Michael Bukola

Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett

Adetokunbo Fatukasi

Charley Hasted

(Sources Electoral Commission, Mayor of London London Assembly)


Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.

Find us on Facebook